Dallas Symphony Association Board Of Governors announces new board leadership


Cece Smith

Dallas, TX (April 8, 2020) – Today, the Dallas Symphony Association (DSA) announces Cece Smith as Chair Elect.

Upon her election as Chairman of the Dallas Symphony Association Board of Governors at the DSA Annual Meeting in fall 2021, Smith will lead the Board of Governors in overseeing the direction and governance for the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, working with the orchestra’s Ross Perot President & CEO Kim Noltemy, her executive team and Music Director Fabio Luisi.  

Smith has been an active and engaged member of the DSA Executive Board and Board of Governors since 2004. She has served in a number of leadership roles within the organization, most recently as President of the Dallas Symphony Foundation and Secretary of the DSA. Smith and her husband, Ford Lacy, also recently named the Principal Trombone Chair, which was the orchestra’s last unnamed principal chair.  

Smith will succeed Sanjiv Yajnik who has led the DSA Board of Governors as Chairman since 2017. Under Yajnik’s visionary direction, the DSO approved a new strategic plan to revitalize the orchestra’s involvement with the community, assumed management of the iconic Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center and appointed acclaimed conductor Fabio Luisi as its next Music Director.