Staying safe at the Meyerson:

Welcome back
Alexander Kerr
Alexander Kerr

Mozart & Shostakovich

January 8 – 10, 2021

Alexander Kerr conducts

Saint-Georges [Joseph Bologne, Chevalier De Saint-Georges] Overture to The Anonymous Lover (L’amant anonyme)
Shostakovich Chamber Symphony for Strings in A-flat major, Op. 118a
Mozart Symphony No. 29 in A major, K. 201

Saint-Georges, a French Caribbean composer whose musical genius rivaled Mozart’s (they spent a few days together in Vienna), composed this delightful Rom-Com opera, The Anonymous Lover.

Mozart’s expressive 29th symphony was penned by the 18-year-old wunderkind after his visit to Vienna. Rich in Rococo ornamentation and inspired by the string quartets of Haydn, the symphony’s propulsive rhythms and dashing finale will be a welcomed ray of sunshine following Shostakovich’s tumultuous chamber symphony for strings is a bold arrangement of his folk tune infused 10th string quartet.

Alexander Kerr_Concertmaster_Violin I_Michael L Rosenberg Chair_Dallas Symphony

Alexander Kerr


Michael L. Rosenberg Chair